Packing

I have gotten lots of wonderful advice about what I should pack for my 4 week Corporate Service Corps trip to Raipur, India (and the 2 week vacation to South Korea and Malaysia afterwards). However, the most important piece of advice is to “Pack less than you think you need. And then take half of that.”  Those who know me really well know that I am a pretty light packer already. I’m really not sure what would be left if I left half behind, given that there are lots of work electronics that need to come whether I want them to or not. I guess maybe I don’t need to bring every piece of underwear I own? Here’s hoping that laundry facilities will be readily available at the hotel. And at least I’ve had practice at handwashing all my clothing before, if it comes to that. I’m a champion wringer. Hands of steel. At least until the arthritis makes itself known. 🙂

Here’s the list:

Money Belt
Hat
Scarf
Extra glasses
Glasses cases (2)
Eyeglass prescription because baby I’ll be in the lands of the cheap glasses

SOS program card
Passport w/visa
Immunization card
Photocopies of passport and visa
Extra passport photos
Debit card
2 credit cards
leave keys and rest of wallet contents at home

souvenir pins
pens

Laptop
Laptop power cord
thumbdrive
security cable
security cable keys
headphones
phone
charger
ipod
Voltage converter and plug adaptors

Maureen’s battery, charger, earrings, jacket, other things she left behind

Hand sanitizer (2)
Deet mosquito spray (2)
Mavik
Tiazac
Spironolactone
blue huffer (3)
red huffer (3)
antihistiamines (2)
Advil
Malaria prophylactics
Dr travel list:
Oral rehydration powders (Gastrolyte)
Anti-nausea tablets (Gravol)
Antidiarrheal meds (Immodium)
Laxative
Antibiotic (Cipro)
Calamine lotion with antihistamine
Decongestant
Antifungal cream
Antibacterial cream

Sun screen
Small first aid kit (bandaids, tweezers, etc)
Small sewing kit (needle, white & black thread), 2 safety pins
Anti-virus water bottle

Jeans (1) – because South Korea won’t be as warm as India and Malaysia
Khaki pants (1)
yellow & black top
green top
camisole
Moe’s shirt
Moe t-shirt
t-shirts (3)
lt wt grey cycling shirts (2)
underwear (all?)
bra (2)

shampoo
conditioner
floss
toothpaste
toothbrush
hairbrush
comb
lotion
diva cup & bag
toilet paper

Wear:
Sandals
Moe’s black slacks
Black tshirt

The reason I’m packing already is to make sure that I haven’t forgotten anything. I still have time to go “Oh! What about x!”  If I did forget something, I’ll add it as an addendum.

Packing

Leave a Reply

