Flights

Travelling to India from the extreme west coast of Canada is not a short trip.

First, there’s the hop from Victoria to Vancouver, which is about 30 mins. Then 3+ hrs hanging about in Vancouver as I register for my international flight. Then I get on a Lufthansa jet to fly from Vancouver to Frankfurt for 10 hours. There will then be a 4 hr layover. Then I get back on the plane to Mumbai, on the west coast of India, for 8 hrs. Then there is a 6 hr layover in Mumbai, and then finally the last leg of the flight is 1 hr 40 mins to Raipur. So for the flight to Raipur, I’m on a plane or in an airport for approximately 33 hrs. But this isn’t the worst part. The worst part is that I’m going on vacation after the India trip.

I’m thrilled to visit Malaysia and South Korea and visit my friends Maureen and Bill. I’m so happy to be doing it. But all the extra flying! Here’s what happens after I finish my CSC assignment.

  • Fly from Raipur to New Delhi. (2 hrs)
  • Layover (7 hrs)
  • New Delhi to Colombo, Sri Lanka (4 hrs)
  • Layover (2.5 hrs)
  • Colombo to Kuala Lumpur (6.5 hrs)
  • Layover (1.5 hrs)
  • KL to Johor Bohru, Malaysia. (50 mins)
  • VISIT MOE! YAY!
  • Johor Bohru to Kuala Lumpur (1 hr)
  • Layover (2 hrs)
  • KL to Seoul, South Korea. (6 hr, 20 mins)
  • VISIT BILL! YAY!
  • Seoul to Guangzhou, China (3.5 hrs)
  • Layover (5 hrs)
  • Guangzhou to New Delhi (6 hrs)
  • Layover (overnight, so off to a nearby hotel I go! )
  • New Delhi to Raipur (2 hrs)
  • Layover (over night again, so yay, hotel)
  • Raipur to Mumbai (2hrs)
  • Layover (9 hrs)
  • Mumbai to Newark, New Jersey (16 hrs)
  • Layover (12.5 hrs)
  • Newark to Vancouver (6 hrs)
  • Layover (1 hr)
  • Vancouver to Victoria (30 mins)

My return from Raipur to Victoria alone is 47 hrs. If you add the flights & layovers from Seoul to Raipur (but not including the hotel sleeping) it is 63 hrs in planes and in airports.

Total time in airports and on planes for the entire trip: 130 hrs. Yes, as a matter of fact, that is almost 5.5 days. 80 hrs is for the CSC assignment (ie: to and from Raipur only), 50 hrs is during my vacation.

Would it have been easier to fly home straight from South Korea? YES YES YES. It would have saved me a couple of days that I could have spent with Moe and Bill instead. But that’s not how airline tickets work. It would have cost 3-4x more to do it that way, because one-way tickets cost outrageously more than round trip tickets. And IBM, budget conscious as they are, was only willing to spring for the least expensive options. Therefore, I had to fly in and out of Raipur for the to/from home trips.

Oh the other hand, the niblings will love all the layovers in different countries, as I’ve promised post cards from each country I enter, even if I never step foot out of the airport. So bonus?!

Flights

Leave a Reply

